90-strong Magic Weekend entry unveiled

Tidemand and Bryntesson the latest to join the ‘All-Star’ Höljes event


More than 90 entries have been announced for next month’s ‘All-Star’ Magic Weekend at Höljes, with European Rallycross regulars Pontus Tidemand and Thomas Bryntesson the latest to join the field.

Tidemand, who was crowned WRC2 champion in 2017 with Škoda Motorsport, will line up in a Hedströms Motorsport prepared Volkswagen Polo, moving away from the Beetle he contested four rounds of the Euro RX championship in last season.

Norwegian Bryntesson (pictured below), an event winner at the Estering last season and the 2017 RallyX Nordic champion, will continue in the Polo with which finished third in the Euro RX standings last year.


Photo: World RX Media

The Supercar class features an impressive 22 entries, with double World Rallycross Champion Johan Kristoffersson headlining the event driving a VW Dealer/Team Bauhaus Volkswagen Polo. Two entries have been reserved for the Münnich Motorsport team, with drivers expected to be announced in due course.

Defending European and RallyX Nordic champion Robin Larsson will also be among the contenders for overall victory as part of a crack seven-car line-up for JC RaceTeknik.

Fellow World RX driver Niclas Grönholm will also be competing in the Supercar category, while father and double WRC champion Marcus will line up in the Legends class alongside 1999 Euro RX champion Per Eklund and Olsbergs MSE team boss Andréas Eriksson.

RX Quarantine event winner Linus Östlund heads a 15-car entry for the Supercar Lites category, with defending Höljes winner Thomas Holmen and RX Academy graduate Jesse Kallio also involved.

In the CrossCar/CrossKart category, a capacity entry of 40 competitors is set to take part, with the new-for-2020 CrossCar Junior class featuring 10 cars for drivers as young as 12.

Two entries from the LifeLive Nordic, a local off-shoot of the LifeLive company that manufacturers the TN5 CrossCar, are still to be confirmed.

The event will take place over four days on the weekend of July 2-5 and will be the first major rallycross race to take place since the outbreak of coronavirus.

Entry list: Supercar

1Johan KristofferssonSWEVW Dealer TeamVolkswagen Polo
3Ben-Philip GundersenNORJC RaceteknikAudi S1
4Robin LarssonSWEKYB Team JCAudi S1
5Lars AnderssonSWEHedströms MotorsportFord Fiesta
9Christer DalmansSWEHedströms MotorsportVolkswagen Polo
12Anders MichalakSWEOlsbergs MSEFord Fiesta
16Oliver ErikssonSWEOlsbergs MSEFord Fiesta
17Mats ÖhmanSWEJC RaceteknikAudi S1
27Dennis OlssonSWEMKIV RXVolkswagen Scirocco
33Enzo IdeBELJC RaceteknikAudi S1
35Fraser McConnellJAMOlsbergs MSEFord Fiesta
45Pontus TidemandSWEHedströms MotorsportVolkswagen Polo
48Lukas WalfridsonSWEHelmia MotorsportRenault Clio
51Thomas BryntessonSWEThomas BryntessonVolkswagen Polo
61Andreas CarlssonSWEACRXRenault Clio
68Niclas GrönholmFINGRXHyundai i20
88Daniel ThorénSWETiKRXVolkswagen Polo
99Dan ÖbergSWEMKIV RXVolkswagen Scirocco
105Linus WestmanSWELIWE RXFord Fiesta
TBCTBCTBCMuennich MotorsportSEAT Ibiza
TBCTBCTBCMuennich MotorsportSEAT Ibiza

Words :Stephen Brunsdon