ESmotorsport trying 20 drivers for World RX seat

Lithuanian squad gives first indication of 2021 participation


ESmotorsport has announced that it is undertaking a closed driver selection process with 20 different drivers ahead of the 2021 World Rallycross season.

The confirmation of the driver selection program is acknowledgement of ESmotorsport’s involvement in World RX next year, although the team’s participation in the 2020 season is unsure after being absent in published entry lists so far. None of the 20 drivers involved in the process have been revealed yet.

The Lithuanian team stepped up to World RX last year with an R5-based Škoda Fabia following an extensive testing program.

It began the season with 2018 Super 1600 Champion Rokas Baciuška who contested the opening two rounds of the season, before utilizing a rotating lineup of François Duval, Kevin Abbring, and Matvey Furazhkin for six of the remaining eight rounds.

Abbring, who like Duval made his name in the World Rally Championship rather than in rallycross, scored the team’s best results with a brace of fourth places in Norway and Sweden.

The Dutchman was set to drive a second Fabia for the team last year until Baciuška left for GC Kompetition. The team remained a one car operation for the rest of the season and Abbring has since also joined the French team for a World RX campaign this year.

World RX’s 2020 season will finally get underway at Höljes next month after an extended layoff brought about by the coronavirus pandemic. Three double headers will start the year at the Swedish track, Kouvola in Finland, and Riga, Latvia.