Nitrocross set for wild start with crazy new track

MidAmerica Outdoors Oklahoma is the first purpose-built track for the series, and hosts the 2023/24 opener

FC1 1

Kris Meeke, Travis Pastrana, Fraser McConnell, Andreas Bakkerud and of course reigning champion Robin Larsson. All the big names are ready and poised for the new Nitrocross season to get underway – but there’s no way they’re ready for the unique challenge that lies in store this weekend.

That’s because round one takes place at MidAmerica Outdoors Oklahoma –  a brand-new track which has been billed to include all of series pioneer Pastrana’s “craziest ideas rolled into one”.

Pastrana explained: “This track has such amazing natural elevation [already] that we decided to work more with the existing terrain and make it fun and unique with elements we couldn’t build anywhere else.

“Our goal was to make multiple lines in almost every corner so different driving styles will shine through.

“We’ve made this track so it’s equally as fast inside as outside. If you’re a quick driver it doesn’t matter if you start first or last, you’re going to be able to get from last to first.”

Excited? Us too.

But this is only just the beginning.

“This is the first purpose-built track, but it’s nowhere near complete. We’re just getting started. Every year it will evolve,” Pastrana added.

“The goal is to be able to run most of the track forward and backward. We will concrete some turns and pave others. There will be an option to run a dirt section that we can change from year-to-year and run everything from Lemons cars to Supermoto to off-road trucks.

“MidAmerica in Oklahoma looks to be the best track on the Nitrocross circuit this year and it will only get better from here!

“The thing I’m looking forward to most is seeing the look on everyone’s face when
they see the track in person for the first time.”

Formerly known as Nitro Rallycross, Nitrocross is bound for its third ever year as a series and the second with the all-electric FC1-X platform as its headline class.

Eleven drivers will compete for honors this weekend, while there’ll also be NRX NEXT action (featuring Lia Block) as well as Side x Sides and Baja buggies.

FC1-X entry:

Team Driver
DRR JC #13 Andreas Bakkerud
DRR JC #4 Robin Larsson
DRR #35 Fraser McConnell
DRR #24 Conor Daly
Vermont SportsCar #199 Travis Pastrana
Vermont SportsCar #21 Conner Martell
Team OMSE #23 Kevin Eriksson
Team OMSE #16 Oliver Eriksson
OMSE #71 Benito Guerra
Xite Energy Racing #42 Oliver Bennett
Xite Energy Racing #62 Kris Meeke

Words:Luke Barry