Sno*Drift Rally 2022: What you need to know

The opening round of the American Rally Association is this weekend. Here's all the key info you need to stay up-to-date


The 2022 American Rally Association presented by DirtFish National Championship begins this weekend in the small town of Atlanta, Michigan for the Sno*Drift Rally.

After last year’s rally was shortened to one day due to COVID restrictions, fans and competitors alike are ready to get back to normal at one of the most difficult rallies in all of North America.

The one and only event to be held on snow and ice of the ARA season, Sno*Drift is nothing like Rally Sweden in the World Rally Championship because those fancy studded tires the WRC machines have bolted on? They are outlawed in the US.

That makes this rally truly unique and a real chance for the underdogs to spring a surprise and upset the establishment.

Here’s everything you need to know for this year’s Sno*Drift Rally:

Entry breakdown


The National entry at Sno*Drift is a bit slim this year, but still shows potential for great competition.

The Open class is headlined by Brandon Semenuk and new co-driver Keaton Williams representing Subaru Motorsports USA alone, as Travis Pastrana continues to heal after an injury incurred while BASE jumping.

Barry McKenna would have been there to fight for the top positions but withdrew last minute due to work complications.

Patrick Gruszka and Zach Pfiel will be Semenuk’s sole competition in O4WD, with the pair making their class debut in a Mitsubishi Mirage after winning the East Regional L2WD Championship in 2021.

In RC2, a pair of Fiestas will battle for both class and overall podium, one driven by rising star Kyle Tilley and the other by proven driver Johnny O’Sullivan.

The Limited 4WD, NA4WD combined class has the most amount of entries with nine racers on the board. Some of the favorites to win include the reigning ARA LN4 champion Mark Piatkowski, reigning Mexico National Champion Ricardo Cordero, and the ever impressive Brit Will Graham.


Plenty of other teams including Honda’s Chris Sladek in the Passport rally truck, and legendary rocker Vivian Campbell are ready to pounce if opportunity arises to take the lead.

The O2WD class’ lone rear-powered entrant Michael Hooper will be battling to stay ahead of the front-drive cars of Spencer Sherman, Brad Morris, and Micah Nickleson for the first win of the class championship. Hooper has the skill to win Sno*Drift in RWD, but the rest of the competition is fierce in waiting to pass at the slightest mistake.

Last but not least, L2WD will be contested by GHR Motorsport owner Jerry Hernandez in the team-built Mazda 2 Rally5 car, competing against last year’s L2WD Cup runner-up Paul Dickinson.

Class Car Driver Co-driver Car
O4WD 180 Brandon Semenuk Keaton Williams 2020 Subaru WRX STI
RC2 18 Kyle Tilley Martin Brady 2019 Ford Fiesta
RC2 195 John O’Sullivan Ozgur Simsek 2018 Ford Fiesta
L4WD 398 Ricardo Cordero Marco Hernandez 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX
L4WD 270 Will Graham Matt James 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
NA4WD 35 Mark Piatkowski Aaron Crescenti 1999 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS
O2WD 423 Michael Hooper Claudia Barbera 2006 Lexus IS350 Gravel Spec
O2WD 386 Brad Morris Ryan Scott 2017 Mitsubishi Mirage
L4WD 52 Eamon Fallon Stephen Joyce 2009 Mitsubishi Evolution x
O2WD 237 Micah Nickelson Tyler Ptacek 1986 Volkswagen Golf
L4WD 258 Tim Whitteridge Ryan Dunham 2005 Mitsubishi Evolution VIII
O2WD 158 Spencer Sherman Boyd Smith 2013 Ford Fiesta R2 N/A
NA4WD 964 Vivian Campbell Michael Hordijk 2003 Subaru Imprezza
L4WD 919 Phil Wearn Karen Jankowski 2016 Subaru WRX STI
O4WD 243 Patrick Gruszka Zach Pfeil 2019 Mitsubishi Mirage RS
L4WD 41 Chris Sladek John Sharps 2022 Honda Passport
L2WD 996 Gerardo Hernandez Keegan Helwig 2020 Mazda 2 Rally 5
NA4WD 107 Dan Colburn Cameron Case 2004 Subaru Impreza 2.5i
L2WD 64 Paul Dickinson Dylan Whittaker 2017 Ford Fiesta



While this is the first rally of the National championship, it’s the second of the ARA Central Regional championship. With 24 of the best grassroots drivers in the country, the Regional rally should host plenty of competition as well.

Jon Kramer of Heavy Metal Motorsports and Jimmy Pelizzari of Blind Deer Rallysport will be ones to watch for the top spot. Pelizzari has won the previous two Sno*Drifts and often outruns many National entries.

Since Nemadji Trail Rally at the end of 2021 counted toward this year’s Central championship, Al Dantes Jr. and Stephen Gingras each enter with points on the board, and stand the best chance of being ahead in the standings by the end of the weekend.

The 2WD classes are absent of last year’s fastest competitors, but a few notable entrants include Santiago Iglesias’ crew chief Erik Buetow taking over for the weekend due to Iglesias being unable to make it, Daniel Downey of Downwy Dirty Racing in his E30 BMW, and Kelsey Stephens in her ‘Clownshoe’ BMW M-Series Coupe.

Class Car Driver Co-driver Car
O4WD 887 Jimmy Pelizzari Kate Stevens 2000 Subaru Impreza STi
NA4WD 777 Jon Kramer Jason Smith 2000 Subaru Impreza 3.0RS
O4WD 248 Scott Banes Duncan Banes 2000 Subaru Impreza
L4WD 150 Ivo Draganov Vladimir Yanev 2002 Subaru WRX Wagon
NA4WD 12 Stephen Gingras Katherine Gingras 1994 Subaru Impreza
NA4WD 927 Tim Michel Cindy Krolikowski 1996 Audi A4
O2WD 142 Daniel Downey Samantha Gouin 1987 BMW 325is
O2WD 50 Al Dantes Jr Shanti Witt 1987 Mazda LSRX-7 Rexine
O2WD 425 Julien Sebot Steven Harrell 2015 Ford Fiesta
O2WD 723 Calvin Cooper Michael Claiborne 1991 BMW 318is
L2WD 235 Mark Rokus Tabitha Lohr 1985 Volkswagen VW mk2 GTI
O2WD 705 Nigel Maidment Andrew Sims 2006 Lexus IS350
NA4WD 400 Brandon Boyd Kyle Roberts 2003 Subaru Impreza
L2WD 986 Chris Nonack Sara Nonack 2013 Subaru BRZ
L4WD 588 Gabriel Jacobsohn Bryce Proseus 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STi
O2WD 870 Alex Garrow James Campbell 2001 Volkswagen Jetta
O4WD 597 Robert Dupree Michael Funk 1991 Mitsubishi Eclipse
L4WD 993 Michael Tirpak Christopher Rotolo 1993 Ford Escort RS Cosworth
L2WD 468 Paul  Hubers Patrick Connolly 2017 Honda Civic
L2WD 33 Josh Armantrout Travis Hinkle 2016 Ford Fiesta ST
O2WD 823 Kelsey Stephens Olivia Vargo 1999 BMW Z3 Coupe
O4WD 810 Bradley Hayosh Neil Moser 2002 Subaru STI
O4WD 992 Patrick Glodz Michael Chmiel 2003 Mitsubishi EVOLUTION
L2WD 599 Eric Dieterich Jake Wolfe 2011 Ford Fiesta
L2WD 309 Erik Buetow Robert Kassel 2013 Subaru BRZ




Back to a full-length rally for the first time since 2020, this year’s Sno*Drift Rally comprises 15 special stages – conluding with the traditional but renamed Thunder River that used to be known as Bonfire Alley.

There’s no service in between any of Friday’s first six stages making them a particular challenge, but the real sting in the tail could be the demanding Camp 30 which is comfortably the longest stage of the event and now four miles longer than in previous years.

Friday February 18

SS1 Fishlab-Greasy (8.10 miles) 1618
SS2 Short Ranch (3.27 miles) 1651
SS3 Sage-Orchard (7.05 miles) 1719
SS4 Fishlab-Greasy (8.10 miles) 1833
SS5 Short Ranch (3.27 miles) 1906
SS6 Sage-Orchard (7.05 miles) 1934

Saturday February 19

SS7 Hunters-Argen (7.26 miles) 1058
SS8 Old State-Huff (8.99 miles) 1130
SS9 Mills-Meaford (6.68 miles) 1205
SS10 Hunters-Argen (7.26 miles) 1339
SS11 Old State-Huff (8.99 miles) 1411
SS12 Camp 30 (14.88 miles) 1437
SS13 Mills-Meaford (6.68 miles) 1517
SS14 Camp 30 (14.88 miles) 1718
SS15 Thunder River (4.87 miles) 1805

Words:Mason Runkel