Rally Azores 2022 data: Running order + itinerary

DirtFish brings you all the key information for the second round of the European Rally Championship


Just like that, the second round of the European Rally Championship season is upon us, and although still in Portugal, this time the drivers will be tackling Rally Azores.

There are a lot of changes to the entry list this weekend, most notably at the head of the ERC class, but with 46 crews ready to tackle the stages, we can still expect there to be plenty of action.

Here’s all the key information you need this week.

Entry breakdown:

Total 46 crews
30 ERC crews
3 ERC3 crews
13 ERC4 crews



The biggest headline for this weekend is that the championship leader, Nil Solans, will not be competing. Budget issues have ruled him out for the season’s second round, and Armindo Araújo will be looking to capitalize on the situation.

Efrén Llarena will be hoping to bounce back after a difficult 10th place finish last time out, but he has done well on Azores in the past, finishing third last year behind Andreas Mikkelsen and Dani Sordo.

Last year’s Austrian Rally champion Simon Wagner returns to the ERC for the first time since 2019, driving a Skoda Fabia Rally2, while Ricardo Moura will make his first ERC start of the season.

Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
1 Armindo Araújo Luís Ramalho Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
2 Alberto Battistolli Simone Scattolin Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
3 Javier Pardo Adrian Perez Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
4 Bruno Magalhães Carlos Magalhães Hyundai i20 N Rally2
5 Jose Pedro Fontes Inês Ponte Citroën C3 Rally2
6 Ricardo Teodósio José Teixeira Hyundai i20 N Rally2
7 Pedro Almeida Mário Castro Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
8  Efrén Llarena Sara Fernández Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
9 Ken Torn Kauri Pannas Ford Fiesta Rally2
10 Luis Vilariño Javier Martínez Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
11 Paulo Nobre Gabriel Morales Škoda Fabia R5
12 Norbert Herczig Igor Bacigál Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
14 Simone Campedelli Tania Canton Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
15 Ricardo Moura António Costa Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
16 Simone Tempestini Sergiu Itu Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
17 Miguel Correia Jorge Carvalho Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
18 Ruben Rodrigues Estevão Rodrigues Citroën C3 Rally2
19 Łukasz Kotarba Tomasz Kotarba Citroën C3 Rally2
20 Luīs Miguel Rego Jorge Henriques Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
21 Simon Wagner Gerald Winter Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
22 Rachele Somaschin Nicola Arena Citroën C3 Rally2
23 Aloísio Monteiro Sancho Eiró Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
24 Pedro Câmara João Câmara Citroën C3 Rally2
25 Alberto Monarri Caros Cancela Suzuki Swift R4ally S
26 Joan Vinyes Jordi Mercader Suzuki Swift R4ally S
40 Mārtinš Sesks Renars Francis Škoda Fabia R5
41 Victor Cartier Marine Maye Toyota Yaris R4
42 Paulo Neto Vitor Hugo Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
43 Bruno Amaral Nuno Cabral Ford Fiesta R5
44 Manuel Osorio Alberto dos Reis Škoda Fabia R5


Just like ERC, ERC3’s championship leader also won’t be present, with Kaspar Kasari missing Azores, meaning Igor Widlak is the only driver returning for the second rally of the season.

Junior WRC driver Jon Armstrong will make his first appearance of the season, and he will be looking to build upon his WRC3 Junior win on Rally Sweden earlier this year.

Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
27 Jon Armstrong Brian Hoy Ford Fiesta Rally3
28 Igor Widłak Daniel Dymurski Ford Fiesta Rally3
45 Daniel Nunes Nunes Mota Ribeiro Ford Fiesta Rally3


Rally Azores won’t count towards the ERC4 Junior championship, but despite that, 13 cars have entered the event with Andrea Mabellini footing the bill.

Mabellini had a solid result on Rally Serras de Fafe, finishing second in class, and he will be seeing  if he can go one better this weekend.

Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
29 Andrea Mabellini Virginia Lenzi Renault Clio Rally4
30 Paulo Soria Marcelo D. Ohannesia Renault Clio Rally5
31 Roberto Daprà Luca Guglielmetti Ford Fiesta Rally4
32 Anthony Fotia Arnaud Dunand Renault Clio Rally4
33 Ernesto Cunha Rui Raimundo Peugeot 208 Rally4
34 Ghjuvanni Rossi Maxime Martini Renault Clio Rally5
35 Patrik Herczig Viktor Bán Renault Clio Rally5
36 Andrea Mazzocchi; Silvia Galotti Renault Clio Rally5
37 Giorgio Cogni Gabriele Zanni Renault Clio Rally5
38 Sergio Fuentes Alain Peña Renault Clio Rally5
39 Emre Hasbay Kutay Ertugrul Renault Clio Rally5
46 Çağlayan Çelik Sedar Bostanci Renault Clio Rally4
47 Reiner Kuhn Tim Rauber Renault Clio Rally5


Saturday March 26

SS1 Coroa Da Mata 1 (7.08 miles) 0818

SS2 Graminhais 1 (14.93 miles) 0906

SS3 Tronqueira 1 (13.66 miles) 1003

SS4 Coroa Da Mata 2 (7.08 miles) 13.41

SS5 Graminhais 2 (14.93 miles) 1429

SS6 Tronqueira 2 (13.66 miles) 1526

SS7 Grupo Marques 1 (2.54 miles) 1706

Sunday March 27

SS8 Ribeira Grande 1 (5.94 miles) 0908

SS9 Feteiras 1 (4.63 miles) 1001

SS10 Sete Cidades 1 (14.91 miles) 1028

SS11 Grup Marques 2 (2.54 miles) 1123

SS12 Feteiras 2 (4.63 miles) 1336

SS13 Sete Cidades 2 (14.91 miles) 1403

SS14 Ribeira Grande 2 (5.94 miles) 1608 [powerstage]

Total competitive distance: 362.52 miles


Words:Rob Hansford