Rally Serras de Fafe 2022 data: Running order + itinerary

DirtFish brings you all the key information on round one of the European Rally Championship


The 2022 European Rally Championship gets underway this weekend in Portugal with the return of Rally Serras de Fafe.

Now under the guidance of WRC Promoter instead of European Events, change is afoot but the opening round of the season is familiar, having featured on the ERC schedule in 2020.

Here’s all the key information you need this week.

Entry breakdown:

Total 43 crews
36 ERC crews
3 ERC3 crews
14 ERC4 crews


After an impressive outing on the Monte Carlo Rally where he finished second in WRC2, Erik Cais is ready to get back to the ERC as he attempts to build on his six place finish in the drivers’ standings last year.

That job will be made slightly easier with the withdrawal of Nikolay Gryazin from the event, although he will no doubt face stiff competition from top seed Efrén Llarena.

Llarena finished runner-up in the championship last year, but he has now switched to Team MRF tyres, racing alongside Norbert Herczig and Simone Campedelli.

Last year’s Portuguese champion Ricardo Teodósio will also tackle the opening event, while two-time PWRC champion Armindo Araujo will look to build on his third place finish on the event last year.

Nil Solans also lines up in a Volkswagen having spent last year in the Hyundai fold.

Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
1  Efrén Llarena Sara Fernández Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
2 Norbert Herczig Igor Bacigál Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
3 Erik Cais Petr Těšínský Ford Fiesta Rally2
4 Nil Solans Marc Martí  Volkswagen Polo GTI R5
6 Simone Campedelli Tania Canton Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
7 Ricardo Teodósio José Teixeira Hyundai i20 N Rally2
8 Armindo Araújo Luís Ramalho Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
9 Bruno Magalhães Carlos Magalhães Hyundai i20 N Rally2
10 Simone Tempestini Sergiu Itu Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
11 Alberto Battistolli Simone Scattolin Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
12 Luis Vilariño Javier Martínez Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
14 Javier Pardo Adrian Perez Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
15 Jose Pedro Fontes Inês Ponte Citroën C3 Rally2
16 Ruben Rodrigues Estevão Rodrigues Citroën C3 Rally2
17 Georg Linnamäe James Morgan Volkswagen Polo GTI R5
18 Miguel Correia Jorge Carvalho Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
19 Pedro Meireles Pedro Alves Hyundai i20 N Rally2
20 Josep Bassas Axel Coronado Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
21 Pedro Almeida Mário Castro Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
22 Ricardo Triviño Vicente Salom Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
23 Lukasz Kotarba Tomasz Kotarba Citroën C3 Rally2
24 Paulo Nobre Gabriel Morales Škoda Fabia R5
25 Pauric Duffy Jeff Case Hyundai i20 N Rally2
26 Rachele Somaschini Nicola Arena Citroën C3 Rally2
27 Jose Luis Garcia Jose Murado Škoda Fabia R5
28 Joan Vinyes Jordi Mercader Suzuki Swift R4lly S
29 Alberto Monarri Carlos Cancela Suzuki Swift R4lly S
40 Ken Torn Kauri Pannas Ford Fiesta Rally2


Just three Rally3 cars will compete on the rally with Dmitry Feofanov leading the charge.

Feofanov spent last year competing with a Suzuki Swift R4, finishing runner-up in the ERC2 standings, but he will tackle the Portuguese gravel this time round with a Ford Fiesta Rally3.

Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
30 Dmitry Feofanov Normunds Kokins Ford Fiesta Rally3
31 Kaspar Kasari Rainis Raidma Ford Fiesta Rally3
32 Igor Widłak Daniel Dymurski Ford Fiesta Rally3


Rally Serras do Fafe, along with the second round in Azores, won’t count towards the ERC4 Junior championship. In past ERC seasons the Juniors have made up the backbone of the Rally4-based two-wheel-drive category entry lists, so numbers are likely to grow later in the season.

But seven cars have still entered the season-opening round in ERC4, with Anthony Fotia heading the bill.

Fotia won the ERC Junior class on the final round in the Canaries in November, and he will be looking to build on that as he enters his second season in the ERC.


Seeded Driver Co-driver Car
33 Anthony Fotia Arnaud Dunand Renault Clio Rally4
34 Óscar Palomo Ortíz Xavi Moreno Peugeot 208 Rallu4
35 Andrea Mabellini Virginia Lenzi Renault Clio Rally4
36 Paulo Soria Mercelo Der Ohennasian Renault Clio Rally4
37 Joosep Ralf Nõgene Ken Järveoja Ford Fiesta Rally4
38 Ernesto Cunha Rui Raimundo Peugeot 208 Rally4
39 Roberto Daprà Luca Guglielmetti Ford Fiesta Rally4


Friday March 11

Shakedown Lagoa (1.88 miles) 1630

SS1 Fafe Super Special Stage (0.88 miles) 2108

Saturday March 12

SS2 Boticas 1 (9.35 miles) 0900

SS3 Cabeceiras de Basto 1 (6.73 miles) 1017

SS4 Vieira do Minho 1 (10.52 miles) 1120

SS5 Luílhas 1 (7.37 miles) 1220

SS6 Boticas 2 (9.35 miles) 1509

SS7 Cabeceiras e Basto 2 (6.73 miles) 1626

SS8 Vieira do Minho 2  (10.52 miles) 1729

SS9 Luílhas 2 (7.37 miles) 1829

Sunday March 13

SS10 Montim 1 (5.42 miles) 0808

SS11 Seixoso 1 (6.19 miles) 0840

SS12 Santa Quitéria 1 (5.70 miles) 0915

SS13 Lameirinha 1 (9.21 miles) 1008

SS14 Montim 2 (5.42 miles) 1220

SS15 Seixoso 2 (6.19 miles) 1252

SS16 Santa Quitéria 2 (5.70 miles) 1327

SS17 Lameirinha 2 (9.21 miles) 1508 [powerstage]

Total competitive distance: 123.4 miles

Words:Rob Hansford