Safari Rally Kenya data: running order + itinerary

The WRC is back in Africa for the first time since 2002 for the Safari Rally Kenya. Here's what lies in front of the crews


For the third time in six events this World Rally Championship season, the cast of 2021 will be heading into the unknown when they start Safari Rally Kenya.

But unlike Arctic Rally Finland in February or Rally Croatia in April, the Safari is an event and Kenya a location well versed in the WRC history books. Just not for the current crop of talent.

That’s because the Safari Rally hasn’t been a counting round of the world championship since 2002 when Colin McRae defeated Harri Rovanperä in what proved to be his final WRC victory.

Kankunnen, Safari

What will a Safari-spec car look like in 2021?

It may not be quite the marathon event of the past, but make no mistake, Safari Rally Kenya will test the 2021 crop

Naturally given some 19 years have passed since then, the WRC – and indeed the world – is a very different place in 2021 and thus the monster stages and outrageous competitive distances the Safari once boasted will remain a thing of the past.

But the character, charm and enthusiasm for this iconic rally lives on, and will be experienced by a new generation of drivers and fans alike.

Here are the important numbers and statistics you need to know for this most exciting of rally weeks.

Leading entries

1 Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (Toyota Yaris WRC)
33 Elfyn Evans/Scott Martin (Toyota Yaris WRC)
11 Thierry Neuville/ Martijn Wydaeghe (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC)
8 Ott Tänak/Martin Järveoja (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC)
18 Takamoto Katsuta/Dan Barritt (Toyota Yaris WRC)
69 Kalle Rovanperä/Jonne Halttunen (Toyota Yaris WRC)

6 Dani Sordo/Borja Rozada (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC)
44 Gus Greensmith/Chris Patterson (Ford Fiesta WRC)
16 Adrien Fourmaux/Renaud Jamoul (Ford Fiesta WRC)
7 Oliver Solberg/Aaron Johnston (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC)

Safari Rally entry breakdown

Total 55 crews
10 Priority 1 crews
1 Priority 2 crew (WRC2)
6 Priority 3 crews (WRC3)
38 Non-priority crews

Safari Rally Kenya itinerary

Thursday June 24
SS1 Super Special Kasarani (3 miles) 1408

Friday June 25
Chui Lodge 1 (8.29 miles) 0809
SS3 Kedong 1 (20.3 miles) 0905
SS4 Oserian 1 (11.72 miles) 1018
SS5 Chui Lodge 2 (8.29 miles) 1346
SS6 Kedong 2 (20.3 miles) 1442
SS7 Oserian 2 (11.72 miles) 1555

Saturday June 26
SS8 Elmenteita 1 (9.11 miles) 0808
SS9 Soysambu 1 (12.63 miles) 0908
SS10 Sleeping Warrior 1 (19.29 miles) 1022
SS11 Elmenteita 2 (9.11 miles) 1346
SS12 Soysambu 2 (12.63 miles) 1442
SS13 Sleeping Warrior 2 (19.29 miles) 1555

Sunday June 27
SS14 Loldia 1 (7.04 miles) 0726
SS15 Hell’s Gate 1 (6.56 miles) 0838
SS16 Malewa (6.03 miles) 1045
SS17 Loldia 2 (7.04 miles) 1125
SS18 Hell’s Gate 2 (6.56 miles) 1318

Total competitive distance: 198.95 miles

Total lisasion distance: 505.64 miles

Total distance: 704.59 miles